Oven Fried Chicken – West Coast Style?

Vancouver has an abundance of wonderful things. Beautiful mountain tops on the horizon, amazing city parks, all year long mild weather and yes – some pretty amazing food if you know where to go… aside from one of my favorites. FRIED CHICKEN. Last summer i visited my friend Mia in Seattle and we got this amazing fried chicken takeout. I cried myself to sleep that night knowing I wouldn’t get that kind of amazing in my mouth till I visited her again. Canadians? Sorry, we suck at fried chicken. Why IS that? Is it really that hard to get it right? Obviously fried chicken requires a crap load of oil and for best results a deep fryer – both of which I don’t have or like to use for health purposes (I’d be frying stuff ALL the time!). Over the years I’ve tried various oven baked versions. I’ve found it’s all about the seasonings as usual and thought I’d post my latest concoction for any of you that would like to try. It’s best to marinate the chicken overnight in the buttermilk, but I never remember to do that. An hour is all I did for these. Crispy flavourful chicken that tastes like it’s been fried… Kinda. I mean nothing beats actual fried chicken right? But this is still mm mm finger lickin’ awesome!

Oven Fried Chicken – West-coast Style?
Serves 2 or 3 (enough coating for twice as much chicken)

Ingredients:

6 chicken legs
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
pinch of thyme
pinch of basil
pinch of oregano
pinch of ginger
pinch of cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

1 cup buttermilk
(1 cup milk 1 tablespoon white vinegar if you don’t have buttermilk)
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
fresh ground pepper

Heat oven to 425 degrees F.


Soak the salt and pepper seasoned chicken for at least an hour in the buttermilk, turning pieces every so often (the acidity of the buttermilk is used to tenderize and soften the chicken).


In a bowl mix bread crumbs, flour, cornmeal and spices well (I used an old baguette we had and pulsed it in the food processor).

Coat chicken pieces in breadcrumb mixture well.

Place drumsticks on a baking sheet and pop into the oven for 35 to 45 minutes to an internal temperature of 165 degrees (turn half way if you want to).

Go 45 minutes if you don’t have a thermometer. Take out of the oven and let them rest for around 10 minutes so the meat retains it’s moisture.

Serve with coleslaw or potato salad, corn on the cob, peas or whatever your favorite side dish for fried chicken might be… Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meats

Leave a Reply

