Zucchini & Enoki Mushroom Pizza

So yes, I may be addicted to pizza. I’m always on the hunt for interesting combination’s so if you have any pass them my way. I prefer them to be on the simple and light side of things as I use a Neapolitan style crust (thin and crispy). In my quest for pizza I have done some research as of late and decided to go the extra mile purchasing Napoli tipo “00” flour. I also followed a recipe I found here and I must say – WHAT a difference. The dough was smooth and elastic, easy to spread out by hand, no rolling pin needed at ALL. I always wondered how those guys spun their dough out above their heads, but now I understand why. The elasticity of the dough was amazing. Flavor wise I didn’t notice too much of a difference from regular flour, but the texture was not the same and it was certainly easier to work with. This pizza would work great as an appetizer – cut it into smaller bite sized pieces. The julienned zucchini and tiny Enoki mushrooms make this easy to eat without dragging the entire topping/cheese off the crust with your first bite. Know what I mean? Who hasn’t had that happen?


Zucchini & Enoki Mushroom Pizza

Ingredients:

Pizza Dough recipe here*
1 small to medium zucchini julienned
1 bunch of Enoki mushrooms
Garlic con fit or olive oil and roasted garlic
Fresh sage
Parmesan cheese finely grated
Goat cheese
Salt n’ pepper

Pre-heat oven to 500 degrees F.
After julienning the zucchini (I used a mandolin) and trimming the woody ends off the mushrooms, stretch out your dough on a piece of parchment paper.

Smear roasted garlic and baste with olive oil. Sprinkle zucchini and mushrooms evenly (you could definitely add more than I did) and lightly salt and pepper. Spread grated Parmesan cheese, chunks of goats cheese and pieces of the fresh sage. Slide your parchment paper onto the back of a cookie sheet and then slide onto your pizza stone in the oven. Leave on the cookie sheet if you don’t have a stone (I highly recommend getting one if you make a lot of pizza. $20 stone gives a nice crust every time!).

Cook for 8 minutes, checking for the colour you like. I like a crispier crust so I let mine go a bit longer. I like to brush my crusts with a little extra olive oil after it’s come out of the oven. Cut it up and lightly drizzle with white truffle oil (to DIE FOR on pizza!) the tiniest droplets will infuse each bite with a woody, earthy flavour.

*Note: This pizza dough recipe will give you three pizzas the size of the one above here. I cut the dough into thirds and used one for this pie. The other two are for dinner tonight, resting in the fridge.

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Pizza, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Zucchini & Enoki Mushroom Pizza

  1. This looks amazing. I’ve been looking for a pizza dough recipe that I could follow in my tiny kitchen without any fancy tools like a rolling pin.

  2. spreads out so easily. make it in the morning before work (takes 5 mins), just cover and pop in the fridge. punch down when you get home and let it warm up and proof a bit more while you prepare your toppings.

  3. Jess

    Hey… Went to Nicli Antica Pizzaria for lunch today (http://nicli-antica-pizzeria.ca)

    Your pizza is better. Seriously. They’ve got to work on their dough recipe.

Leave a Reply

