Vegan Chocolate Chunk Orange Ice Cream

I don’t know how many years it took me to figure out I was lactose intolerant, but when I finally did, it changed my life. That big bowl of cereal with extra milk, or better yet that big bowl of ice cream – would never be apart of my diet ever again – but neither would the INSANE pain that came 20 minutes after said dairy consumption. Luckily I can still eat most cheeses and yogurt, but fresh milk and ice cream KILL ME. I have to admit I haven’t really missed ice cream that much as it was the one that hurt the most. However! Being pregnant right now I’m craving it (most likely because I need the calcium). After consulting a close vegan friendly pal of mine I decided to use coconut milk as my base and though I don’t have an ice cream maker (who the hell does? Oh wait – my friend does) I will be pulling it out of the freezer as it solidifies and remixing it to keep a creamy consistency till it’s firm. Lets see how this goes!

Vegan Chocolate Chunk Orange Ice Cream

Ingredients:

1 can coconut milk
1/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoon cocoa
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon orange extract
1/2 teaspoon ginger
2 chunks of your favorite dark vegan chocolate minced
1 teaspoon grated orange peel
dash of salt

Place a medium size bowl in your sink (it gets messy!) and pour your can of coconut milk in. With a handheld mixer give it a good mix as the fat often separates from the milk. Add sugar, vanilla, orange extract and cacao. Mix well.

With a spoon fold in chocolate chunks and finely grated orange rind.

Pour into a freezer friendly container with cover and place in freezer for 30 minutes. Remove and blend for 20 seconds and place back in freezer.

As it freezes it will start looking like cake batter. Repeat several times, first checking to see that the mixture has started to freeze up.

When mixture becomes quite firm and hard to mix, leave it alone to completely freeze. Scoop out and enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Ice Cream, Vegan

4 responses to “Vegan Chocolate Chunk Orange Ice Cream

  1. Oh, *man* this looks good!! Did it taste as good as it looks??

  2. Aside from the consistency not being as ‘creamy’ as something made with an actual ice cream maker – it totally tastes like ice cream to me! The high fat content of the coconut milk gives it a a super creamy feel in your mouth. so GOOD!

  3. I have to venture into the chocolate world with my ice creams…I usually stay clean coconut. Gosh I sure do with I had access to my ice cream maker!!!

  4. Alexandra Berryman

    Could you try your next batch with honey and not chocolate!!!??? I would be interested in another kind. Like pineapple! Also would an ice cream maker make it work better for making the ice cream? MOM

Leave a Reply

