Strawberry Banana Raw Vegan Cheesecake

At one point in my father’s life he became quite quite sick. At the time I was attending Fashion Design school and found going to class quite stressful as weeks went by waiting for test results on my dad’s pending diagnosis. The word cancer was thrown around and this scared all of us. With a stroke of luck cancer was not the culprit – but 2 pots of coffee a day for the last 20 or so years was. He was put on a very VERY strict diet and has been on it for the past 6 or 7 years now with great success. There is an extensive list of things he is unable and able to eat. My mother keeps him on the straight and narrow and he is healthy and active and should last around 2 more years… Just kidding… he’ll last forever now. 😉

At family events and parties my dad is given a bowl of what appears to be the only thing my mum has figured out he can have for dessert, and though it is quite tasty I would go INSANE if that’s the only thing I ever got as an after dinner treat for the rest of my life. Yesterday I did some research and found a few raw vegan cheesecake recipes. I have had to alter them for my dad as he can have no type of sweetener aside from honey. He is also unable to have soy and wheat (and a million other things). This recipe is also great for the lactose intolerant (like myself). I can’t believe how much this tasted like cheesecake. Definitely a healthy version of one – but for being made purely out of nuts and fruits I am truly impressed!… This cakes for you dad!

Raw Banana Strawberry Vegan Cheesecake
Recipe adapted from here.

Ingredients:

Crust:
1 cup walnuts
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/3 cup of pitted dates
3 to 4 tablespoons cocoa (optional)

Filling:
1 cup raw cashews soaked overnight
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 fresh or frozen banana mashed
3 strawberries (more for garnish)
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons of agave (honey for my dad)
1/2 lemon juiced (1 tsp)

Crust: Blend all ingredients in food processor. You don’t want any large nut or date chunks. Pour into 8 inch cake pan and press down evenly.

Filling: The cashews must be soaked overnight. Blend all ingredients in food processor or blender (I should have used our blender for a smoother consistency).

Pour on top of crust and spread evenly. Place in the fridge for several hours or the freezer (freezes very well) and let thaw 20 minutes before eating.

Garnish with fresh fruit and enjoy!

11 Comments

Filed under cheese, Desserts, Vegan, Vegetarian

11 responses to “Strawberry Banana Raw Vegan Cheesecake

  1. Alexandra Berryman

    Wow!! Thanks for thinking of your dad!! It would work for me too as I am lactose intolerant also! Will give it a try!
    Thanks from your mom

  2. That looks completely AMAZING! The pics are out of this world!

  3. This looks fascinating! Do you think I could sub pecans for the walnuts?

  4. You totally could. Cashews, peanuts… My friend Melissa mentioned using psyllium or Irish moss as a gelling agent. I think I’ll try that next time. *d

  5. Hi, just wanted to comment on your accessories – after noticing I really liked your patterned plate in this post’s picture, I clicked through all our pics, and I really like your various patterned plates!

  6. Tovey

    I took a raw food class and we make AMAZING chocolate mousse. seriously unreal. Avocados, cocoa and date/raisin puree…you need to try this!

  7. Tovey – send me the recipe please!! dalynszilvassy@ gmail.com

  8. @ Kiki – thank you! We have been collecting various plates for years now. As the years go on they become harder to find (due to all the young hipsters that have picked up on amazing mid-century style etc…) we try not to break them. *d

Leave a Reply

