Spicy Pickled Green Beans and Asparagus

There was a bar that I use to frequent with my friends in Victoria many years ago as we waited for our friend Adam the bartender to get off work. My drink of choice was what I liked to call a “Caesar Salad”. This was the first place I’d ever had pickled green beans in my drink. For those of you that don’t know what a Caesar is, it’s the Canadian version of a Bloody Mary. At this particular bar the Caesar was garnished with one or two of the pickled beans. They were crisp, tangy and the perfect accompaniment to my spicy Clamato and Vodka bevy. I would ask for extra extra beans and ended up with what looked like a salad in a cocktail glass. Years later I met the pickled bean’s cousin – the pickled asparagus. We too fell in love. A friend of mine has been canning as of late and inspired me to create a version of my favorite veggies in a jar. Behold – Pickled Jalapeno Dill Garlic Green Beans and Asparagus!

Makes 4 Jars

Ingredients:

1 large bunch asparagus
2 pounds of green beans
1 shallot
1 jalapeno
12 cloves of garlic
sprigs of fresh dill
4 tablespoons pickling spice
3 tablespoons kosher salt
4 pinches red chili pepper flakes
3 cups white vinegar
3 cups water
1/4 teaspoon liquid form Calcium Chloride* (optional)

 

Trim asparagus and green beans to fit into jars. Chop up shallot, slice jalapeno into 4 pieces and slice garlic cloves in half.

Sterilize jars and lids by boiling them in water for a few minutes. Remove from water and place on a clean towel. Be sure not to contaminate the inside of the jars or lids with your hands.

Split ingredients evenly into four. Cram asparagus (I put them in tops down) and green beans, garlic, dill, jalapeno and shallots into each jar.

Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of pickling spice and a pinch of chili flakes into each jar. In a pot boil water and vinegar and salt. Pour liquid into each jar to 1/4 inch below the top of the jar.

Seal with lids (make sure they are sealed and not leaking!) and place into boiling water for 8 minutes. Remove and let them cool. The lid should have sunk down into the can slightly. I happened to buy cheap cans and will now be putting my jar into the fridge for safe keeping.

I guess that would make them more of a Kosher jar being in the fridge! Wait at least 2 weeks before cracking these babies open – I will probably crack mine at 1 week cause I just can’t wait!

*Calcium Chloride will keep the pickles crisp. Add to liquid before pouring into jars.

5 Comments

Filed under Pickling

5 responses to “Spicy Pickled Green Beans and Asparagus

  1. Melissa

    Those look freaking awesome!!

  2. This recipe sounds yummy

  3. Susan

    Lovely to have a recipe so clearly laid out. Did these today with my garden beans. Look good so I can hardly wait to taste. Thanks

Leave a Reply

