Vegan Rosemary White Wine Sausages

While making these vegetarian/vegan sausages I feel I have a slight advantage – I still eat meat! My palette is not easily convinced and i want a certain taste in my mouth if I’m going to eat a meat substitute. I’ve decide that if i ever choose to become a vegetarian at some point I will need a roster of amazing food to fall back on when I’m craving the real thing. I’ve seen quite a few people fail when they go cold turkey and I can understand why if you have no idea how to replace the things you once loved so much. So here is another meatless option for you all. They were VERY tasty. Give them a go?

Vegan Rosemary White Wine Sausages

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cup Vital Wheat Gluten flour
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 cup white flour or chick pea flour
1 tablespoon of minced fresh rosemary
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon thyme
2 teaspoons black pepper
1 teaspoon marjoram
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
5 cloves of garlic minced
1 small onion minced
3/4 cup white wine
1 1/4 cup vegetarian chicken or vegetable stock
2 tablespoons soy sauce or Brags
3 tablespoons olive oil

In a skillet saute onion and garlic with 1 tablespoon of olive oil on medium low heat until soft and translucent.

Mix dry ingredients well in a bowl.In your food processor place cooked onions and garlic and add wine, stock, soy sauce and 2 tablespoons of olive oil and pulse until the big chunks are gone.

Slowly add to dry ingredients with a fork and softly mix till all of the dry mix is incorporated. The dough will have a light and fluffy consistency. If dough mixture is too dry, you can add another tablespoon of water if needed. It will feel quite fluffy and light, not dense like a bread or cookie dough. Knead around 10 times and then let dough rest for close to 5 minutes. Knead again 10 15 times and let it rest again.

Cut out pieces of foil and roll sausages into the desired size, twisting the ends off. you could also make patties out of them, whatever you prefer. I wouldn’t go over 1 inch in diameter.

Place in your steamer (I used my big pasta pot with my old school veggie steamer on the bottom. Just be sure to check that there is constantly water on the bottom while steaming. I had to add water several times). Steam for 30 minutes.

Remove after cooking and let sit for 15 minutes or so till you are able to remove the sausage from the foil. Let them cool down before rolling in plastic wrap. Pop them into the freezer and pull out as needed! Be sure to fry them up in a little olive oil to give them a nice crispy edge. These are wonderful with an egg and toast in the morning… Had some this morning and forgot to take a picture of it!

3 Comments

Filed under Meats, Vegan, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Vegan Rosemary White Wine Sausages

  1. Violet Toop

    I never try to convince anyone to go veg, because what they eat isn’t any of my business and I could not care less. However… People who fail when they try to go vegetarian fail because they have no idea what to eat instead or how to cook it. I had to relearn how to cook. (I doubt you would have any problem.) I am relearning again, as I lean more and more vegan these days. Either way, it is a big shift. These sausages look amazing and maybe I will try them this weekend. (I better do it soon too because I recently had a blood test for celiac disease = gluten intolerance.) In 30 years I have had no cravings to eat meat. None. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Violet, try my friends blog… she avoids wheat and soy!
    http://melissa-mcmahon.com/

  3. I want everything you make!! So yummy.

Leave a Reply

