Spinach and Mushroom Ravioli

I’ve never made my own pasta and frankly – I never intend to. In reading the above title I can imagine that you are thinking you’ll have to make your own to make this ravioli happen, but not to worry, you don’t. EGGROLL WRAPS. $2.68 at my local store for a package that had way more than I needed. And they taste GREAT.

So this recipe is taken from the kitchen of Giada De Laurentiis. I have a really hard time watching her show. She drives me nuts. Maybe if her tits weren’t hanging out every episode I wouldn’t be so bothered? Anyways, I’m giving these guys a go! Now just a quick note – i DOUBLED my recipe, so the images will have twice as much ingredients going on.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus 2 tablespoons for boiling water
6 ounces button mushrooms, sliced
1 (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1/4 cup mascarpone
1/3 cup grated Parmesan, plus extra for garnishing
6+ egg roll wrappers (6 1/2 by 6 1/2-inch squares)
1 large egg, beaten with 1 teaspoon water
1 cup burnt butter
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

In a large saute pan heat 1/4 cup of the olive oil. Get the oil really hot, to the point of it almost smoking. Add the mushrooms and season them with salt and pepper. Cook until all the liquid has evaporated from the mushrooms, about 6 minutes. It almost looks like you are frying them as there’s a lot of oil, but don’t worry the spinach will soak it up. Add spinach and cook for 2 more minutes.

Remove from heat and dump the mixture into your food processor. Give it a few quick pulses till you get a coarse texture. If you don’t have a processor you could chop it all up on your cutting board. Place in bowl and add in the mascarpone (holy this stuff wasn’t cheap!) and Parmesan cheese. Check for seasoning and set aside.

A note about seasoning: Your guests shouldn’t HAVE TO. Don’t be afraid of adding a little extra if you think it will taste better… it probably will. It’s embarrassing as a guest to have to salt and pepper your food!

Split apart one of the wrappers on a cutting board. (I pulled one out not realizing it needed to be pulled apart and ended up with a REALLY thick ravioli! See above image) Brush the entire piece with the egg wash and don’t be too stingy. Using a tablespoon, arrange 4 little mounds  of the filling on each wrapper 1-inch apart.

Place another wrapper directly on top, and press around the filling and sealing the edges with the tips of your fingers. Using a fluted ravioli cutter (I used a weird veggie cutter I had, you could just use a knife), cut out squares of ravioli. Each filled wrapper will yield 4 ravioli, giving you a total of 12 ravioli. Place aside on a lightly floured dish as you continue to make them. Now this recipe says you end up with 12 and I have no idea where they get that number from because half way through using the stuffing I had 24 ravioli!

In a large pot, bring to a boil 4 quarts of salted and oiled water. You want the water to taste like ocean water! Carefully add small batches of ravioli, about 5 to 6 at a time. This will prevent them from crowding in the pot and sticking together. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes. Using a spider strainer or slotted spoon, carefully remove the ravioli and place on a plate. Cover with foil to keep warm and continue cooking the remaining ravioli.

The recipe called for a tomato sauce but I thought it would just cover up all the wonderful flavours, so I drizzled some burnt butter over them and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. TO.DIE.FOR. They really were great. It’s a great light meal with a simple side salad and some French bread for a nice date night or have just a few people over. Give it a go? *d

3 Comments

Filed under Pasta, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Spinach and Mushroom Ravioli

  1. Sharon Pomponio

    Yum! Yum! Yum!

    Seeing as I never feel like cooking, therefore I haven’t tried any recipes “yet” I would like to just come and live at your house. I would be an excellent food taster for you.

  2. i have my own pasta maker machine with motor but don’t use it often enough. this looks like a do-able alternative that is speedy…melikey and i’ll try it!

    • I had way too many for Z and I to eat. I layed the extra out on a baking pan and froze them, then popped them into a ziplock for later meals. It looks time consuming, but it really wasn’t to make these. You could add some spicy Italian sausage? That would be tasty!

Leave a Reply

