Borscht ~ A New Take On An Old Favorite

I’ve made Borscht for years. I’m not sure how I fell in love with it as it certainly wasn’t a dish from my Scottish/English and Canadian background, but needless to say I make it quite often and I’m always up for a little tweaking of any previous versions I’ve made. I may have been watching the Food Network channel – I’m not sure, but I saw somebody actually cooking a beef roast in the soup and then adding navy beans! I thought it looked like it might be wonderful and gave it a try. I suggest you do as well – it was AWESOME!

Ingredients:

Small beef roast
1 diced onion
1/2 a cabbage
2 large beets
1 can of navy beans
2 liters of beef broth
1 bay leaf
Salt ‘n peppa and some flour
Oil
Sour cream

Heat up 2 tablespoons of oil on medium/low heat in your big soup pot or dutch oven. Throw in diced onion and saute for 5 minutes. Remove when it becomes soft.

Cut your beef roast in half and heavily salt, pepper and flour both sides. Add 3 tablespoons of oil to your pot. When it’s heated, lay in both pieces of meat and brown each side. When golden and carmelized, remove and set aside.

Slowly add the beef broth, whisking up the brown stuff on the bottom of your pan. Place meat back into the pan, add the sautéed onions and 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for 2 hours.

Grate up your beets and chop up your cabbage. I grate the beets in my food processor and cut up the cabbage by hand.

After simmering for the two hours remove meat from the pot. Rinse one can of navy beans.

Add beets, cabbage, beans and a bay leaf to the pot.

Simmer for another hour. 20 minutes before serving place your meat back into the pot. Add vinegar to taste. I like mine tangy! Start out with 3 tablespoons and add more if you like. Remember the sour cream will cut a lot of the acidity.

Before serving, remove meat and pull off bite sized pieces. Serve up the soup with lots of sour cream, chunks of meat and buttered bread! mmmm! My test kitchen baby approves!

1 Comment

Filed under Soup

One response to “Borscht ~ A New Take On An Old Favorite

  1. Shannon Smith

    Looks amazing. I love the spill bowl. I need one for Scott…lol.

Leave a Reply

