Grilled Eggplant, Artichoke & Olive Pizza

So I have a new obsession. Pizza. Two weeks ago I made Z and I one, making my dough in the bread maker. I don’t know what I did to it… maybe an extra 1/2 cup of flour? Anyways it came out about 2 bloody inches think after I baked it. It was like eating a Kazier bun with pizza toppings on it. NOT what I had in mind!

Smitten Kitchen is a favorite site of mine and her pictures have inspired my own. This pizza is a spin on one of hers.

Ingredients

5 or more gralic cloves and 1/3 cup of the oil of garlic confit
1/2 pound eggplant, cut into 1/2-inch-thick rounds
3 large artichoke hearts chopped (half a can)
homemade pizza dough or store-bought pizza dough
3/4 cup of grated provolone
3/4 cup of grated mozzarella
1/2 cup pitted and sliced black olives

Brush both sides of sliced eggplant with a bit of garlic confit oil. Roast eggplant on your grill, bbq or fry in a pan.

Chop up artichoke hearts.

Roll out pizza dough, place on pan or pizza stone (I put a piece of parchment paper under it with extra corn meal spinkled on it) and baste with confit. Smash up a few cloves and rub them around evenly. Place the rest of your toppings on. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes for a little heat and then add cheese. I’m a stickler for even coverage of everything! I want each bite to have a bit of everything on it. Roll the sides of the overhanging dough in a little bit to create a crust. Heat oven to 500 degrees and cook for around 10 minutes or until cheese is blubbly and brown.

Serve with salad and ice cold beer…

Leave a comment

Filed under Pizza

Leave a Reply

