Vegan Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes with Passion Fruit Cream Cheese Frosting

Imagine a triple attack on your taste buds… caramelized fruit – rich vanilla – tangy topping… well let me show you how! There is a show on the Food Network channel called The Best Thing I Ever Made. One episode featured Elizabeth Falkner making her favorite treat, Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes with Passion Fruit Frosting. Now I LOVE pineapple upside down cake so I got to thinking how I could recreate this treat but also make it vegan as I had a vegan friend coming over for lunch the next day. The show offered no recipe so I went about making my own. Borrowing my pal Melissa‘s vegan vanilla cupcake recipe was a good start. I also decided to make the frosting a cream cheese based one – because cream cheese makes everything taste better – right? I suppose you could use canned pineapple but I recommend fresh as it has a totally different flavour than the canned. You could un-veganize this buy simply replacing all vegan ingredients with the regular stuff. I’ve had several people now tell me these are the best cupcakes they’ve ever had… I’d say give these a go next time you need to impress!

Vegan Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes with Passion Fruit Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

Cupcakes: (makes 12)
1 cup soy or almond milk
1 teaspoon vinegar
1 1/4 cup flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup canola oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons real vanilla
1/4 of a fresh pineapple diced into centimeter size pieces
1/2 cup? brown sugar

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pan with cupcake papers and put pineapple in the bottoms. sprinkle with brown sugar (about a tbsp each).

Mix vinegar and milk and allow to curdle for a few minutes.

Cream oil and sugar in a medium bowl. Add vanilla, cream a bit longer then add milk. Mix all dry ingredients well and add to your wet. Do NOT over mix, just until the lumps are gone.

Fill with batter and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

Passion Fruit Frosting
(This recipe is doubled. You can freeze the other half and pull it out when needed for your next batch. Great time saver!)

250 grams cream cheese (use tofuti to be vegan)
1/4 cup vegan butter
1 teaspoon real vanilla
1/4 passion fruit pulp
4+ cups of icing sugar

Cream cheese and butter, add vanilla and the passion fruit pulp. Add in icing sugar, one or two cups at a time until frosting has nice firm peaks. Frost cupcakes after they have cooled and try not to eat two of them!

5 Comments

Filed under Desserts

5 responses to “Vegan Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes with Passion Fruit Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. I’ve had these people. And they rock. Completely.

  2. S.E.

    I made these tonight but without the cream cheese frosting… I opted out on that and used powdered sugar, pineapple juice and vanilla making a glaze which I spooned over the top of each cupcake. Thxs for this vegan recipe, it was wonderful…these cupcakes were amazing. Will definitely make ‘em again!

  3. Rita

    Hi, Just an FYI – the show was ‘The Best Thing I Ever Ate’, not ‘Ever Made’. Two different shows. The recipe looked pretty simple for the base cake part. E. Falkner tells you what she used pretty much, except for the frosting.

  4. Thanks Rita! you’re right. got the show name wrong. Big difference is that these cupcakes are vegan and her’s weren’t.

Leave a Reply

