Vegetarian TVP Beefy ‘Meatballs’

My friend Anne Marie and her little man Emmet were coming over today to hang out as their floors are being replaced in their home. I thought it might be nice to send my vegetarian friend home with some dinner as I’m sure her and husband Rick will be more inclined to move their furniture back in then cook a healthy meal. I scoured the internets to find a vegetarian ‘meatball’ that had a beefy flavour. I found one and decided to give them a try. They come from the blog A Vegan For Dinner  and due to her daunting request to reference her I thought it was in my best interest! ;) “But this recipe is so fab, if I ever find out you stole it and didn’t give me credit, I will so figure out where you live and sign you up for weird sexual newsletters and/or incontinence catalogs through the mail. That’s a promise.”

These would be great with a simple tomato sauce over spaghetti or sweet and sour sauce over rice as she references. Anything with an asterix * beside it means I’ve either changed her recipe or made an addition to it. I’m hoping she won’t mind!?


Vegetarian TVP Beefy ‘Meatballs’

In a small bowl, mix:
1 cup hot water
1 teaspoon vegan Worcestershire Sauce
1 1/2 tablespoon ketchup
2 tablespoon soya sauce
2 tablespoon vegan beef bouillon
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
*1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon thyme
*1/2 teaspoon oregano
*1/2 teaspoon basil
*1 teaspoon red pepper chili flakes
*1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds (optional)

*Saute in olive oil till translucent: (I couldn’t help but add a little fresh onion and garlic)
1/2 minced onion
2 cloves garlic crushed

Then Stir In:
3/4 cup TVP crumbles
Allow to sit until cool. *I reheated liquid in microwave before adding TVP.

Vegans: Mix 1 Tbsp ground flax *or chia seeds with 3 Tbsp water. Beat with a fork, then lit sit until it begins to gel. Set aside.
*Vegetarians: Wisk up one egg.

In a large bowl, mix:
2 tablespoon cornmeal
1/2 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup breadcrumbs
2 tablespoon flour
3 tablespoon vital wheat gluten flour

When TVP mixture is cool, stir it into the dry ingredients along with flax/or egg and water/TVP mixture. Mix well and knead dough into a solid ball. *Let this rest for around 5 minutes and allow the gluten fibers to form and relax.

Shape into 32 “meatballs” and fry in oil until brown. Alternately, you can bake on an oiled pan at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes. *I divided the dough into 4. Then each of those into 8 small balls. I placed the salt shaker in the picture so you can see how small they are. I also forgot to add the chili flakes so i sprinkled them on the balls after putting them on the cookie sheet for baking.

Use as you would any other meatball, like spaghetti or sweet and sour sauce. Do not allow the meatballs to sit in the sauce for an extended period of time; add close to the end of the cooking period, just long enough to heat thoroughly. *I grated a ton of mozzarella and fresh chopped Italian parsley on mine. I seriously couldn’t tell it was not meat. Great recipe Tracy!!

16 Comments

Filed under Meats, Vegan, Vegetarian

16 responses to “Vegetarian TVP Beefy ‘Meatballs’

  1. Pat99

    I was just curious, what does the vital wheat gluten do? I use this to give my bread a “boost” but can’t figure out what the chemistry is for the meatballs.

  2. Mya

    These were awesome. I have bookmarked and will be using again for sure, I’ve also already sent the link to my Mum and raved about them over the phone. I found I didn’t need the egg after adding the other binders. Delicious and so filling. Thanks for sharing!

  3. holagurl4sure

    I have made these a half a dozen times already and they are always a hit. Instead of using dried basil I used the fresh one and it

  4. holagurl4sure

    came out awesome. it was great with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans. Thank for the recipe.

  5. Felicia A

    I’m making these right now, we are HUGE conivores, so trying to help eliminate so much red meat. Excited, just wondering on the cooked consistency of the balls?

  6. CJ Blosser

    Not exactly sure what the TVP crumbles are….???? This recipe sounds amazing!!

  7. Leslie Friedman

    What a great recipe! We make these ALL THE TIME and love them. They are just delicious. Great flavor, great texture, just yummy. Thank you!

  8. Do the crumbles go in dry or already prepared?

  9. Tracy

    HAHAHAHA! I am the lady who used to run this blog, and those are my meatballs, and I was bored (and thinking about blogging again) so I Googled myself. This made my day, for reals…..

Leave a Reply

