Beet Fennel & Mint Slaw

omg.it’s.been.forever.

Summer finally arrived in Vancouver and it has taken me forever to finally sit down and do a quick blog. I have taken pictures of plenty of my food, but have not gotten around to posting them yet. This recipe is perfect for summer and thought I’d quickly share it with you. My sister Trinity gave it to me and I changed it up just a little. It’s always a hit when she makes it for her friends so i thought I give it a try. The interesting combo of fennel, beets, mint, rasins and the miso dressing come togther really nicely. It’s light, fresh and healthy to a fault. Definitely give this one a try!


Beet Fennel & Mint Slaw

7 tablespoons rice vinegar
5 tablespoons white miso paste (I used the light brown kind)
4 teaspoons honey or agave nectar
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup raisins
3 golden or red beets, peeled and grated
1 fennel bulb, fronds and bulb thinly sliced (so the entire thing, thin as you can get it)
1 bunch green onions, chopped
2/3 cup mint leaves, sliced

In a smaller bowl, whisk together vinegar, miso, honey and pepper. Set aside.


Soak raisins in boiling water for 5 minutes then drain. In a large bowl add beets, fennel, green onions and mint. Toss in dressing to coat. Simple as that. Trin recommends tossing in dressing an hour before you eat it.

2 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Beet Fennel & Mint Slaw

  1. Yummy, yummy, yum yum yum….la la la. Is this what you have a jar of for me?!?!??! I’ve been posting this weekend awaiting garden party pictures. I just ate beans and rice which I didn’t think I’d do for another 10 years on account of Cuba…..this post looks amazing. Can’t wait to try!

  2. No I have some pickled onions for you but I’ll put some of this aside as I made tons. I really liked it. Fresh and tasty! *d

Leave a Reply

