Baked Cheesy Kale Chips

Hmmmp. Healthy food. Why don’t I eat more of it? I find that when I choose to make something that has a meat alternative or in this case a starch alternative, I go out of my way to ‘up’ the flavour. The result is always remarkably enjoyable… who knew? A close friend of mine has decided to become vegetarian for a year and he got me thinking again about trying to substitute in some healthier options. Another friend is revisiting her vegan roots and posted a picture of the “cheesy kale chips” she’d just made on facebook today. I thought I’d give them a try with a little Dalyn twist. This is a reworked version of this recipe. They have a very nutty/citrus/cheesy flavour to them, nothing like what I expected! These chips are pretty much PURELY healthy – AND delicious!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of pistachios or cashews soaked
1 1/2 red bell peppers chopped
4 cloves garlic
1 tbs olive oil
2+ tbsp nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp paprika
1 tsp sea salt
1 lemon juiced
1 tbsp lemon zest
2 bunches of kale stems removed (all not shown)

Soak the nuts for at least 30 minutes and then drain. In a blender combine all of the ingredients aside from the kale. Give it a taste and add more salt if you think it needs it.

Remove the stems from the kale and tear into edible pieces.

Massage the blended mixture into the leaves and place them on cookie sheets and lightly sprinkle with a little extra nutritional yeast.

Now I don’t have a food dehydrator, so I turned on my oven to the lowest setting 250 degrees Fahrenheit. Bake for around 1 hour, turning the piece over half way through. Remove from the oven and after they cool place into an airtight container and try not to eat all of them in one sitting…

6 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Vegan, Vegetarian

6 responses to “Baked Cheesy Kale Chips

  1. Melissa LeClair

    this makes me happy…I can’t wait to try them so they make my tummy happy too!!!

  2. I wonder if there’s Kale in Vietnam…I might have to live this one vicariously through you.

  3. Pingback: » Cheesy Zucchini or Kale Chips SwapMeat

  4. Thanks for posting the recipe. I’m gonna make this for a holiday party on Monday. :-)

Leave a Reply

